Burlap Pillow

This year for New Years, I searched the blogosphere and found these great printables to help us with some New Years Resolutions.  What I liked about these printables were they also were a record keeper that told us a little about ourselves this last year and who we wanted to be a year from now.

It’s still not too late to use these if you want to, or check them out for next year.  These blogs are full of great ideas.  Thirty Handmade Days (kids version and adult version) and Run Lucas Run.  So cute!

Part of those printables included picking a word for the year that you wanted to live by.  Maybe something you wanted to work on or improve on.  I chose the word PLAYFULL.  Yes, I know I spelled it wrong.

I am always so busy and stressed and serious.  Moving from one thing to the next trying to get my to-do list done.  I needed to get down and play with my kids more and I needed to be more playful with my husband so he didn’t forget the woman he married six years ago.  I wanted my life to be more FULL of PLAY.  PLAYFULL.

On, Your Homebased Mom, she makes a burlap pillow every year with her word on it as a daily reminder of her resolution.

I am in charge of a youth group for my church.  We did these resoultions for an activity and just last week finally got around to making our pillows.  They turned out great!  And were super easy so that’s even better!

First I got some stamps and some regular old acrylic paint.  I brushed the paint on the letters and then stamped them onto my fabric.

I wanted to add a little flair to my pillow so I quickly whipped up this little flower to pin next to my word fabric.  First you cut out seven circles of your desired fabric and one circle out of felt.  The felt circle should be about half the size of the other circles and the size just depends on how big you want your flower.  I used one of my kids cups and I used the open end for the seven circles and the bottom end for the felt circle.

Then you fold the circle in half, and then in half again.  While it’s folded, you cut the pointed tip off.

Then you hot glue four of the circles towards the outside of the felt circle and three on the inside and then fluff to your desired look.  Pretty easy!

For the pillow I bought some burlap and cut a bunch of 15×15 inch pieces out.  I pinned my word fabric to the middle of one of the burlap pieces and sewed around the edges with a 1/2 inch seam.  Then I pinned the flower on.

Then I just pinned two pieces of burlap together and sewed around three edges with a 1/2 inch seam.  Usually I would turn the pillow inside out and then sew the fourth side but I liked the rustic look of these pillows so I just stuffed it with some pillow filling and then sewed the other edge shut.

I was really pleased with how they turned out and my girls had a lot of fun with it too.  Here are some other options on what your pillow could look like.  Every pillow has so many options of fabric, paint color, or flower so you could really do so much with these.

 (she hadn’t chosen her word yet :) )

If you guys do a pillow or choose a word, send me a comment letting me know what you did!  I’d love to see how they turn out!

Posted in DIY

5 thoughts on “Burlap Pillow

  1. I love this idea. Not only are these beautiful but it would be nice to have a gentle, happy reminder of what you are trying to improve in yourself. I’m going to have to try this!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

