Spinach Artichoke Pepper Jack Stromboli

IMG_3991

If anyone knows me, they know that I love, love, love pizza…and any sort of thing resembling pizza. We are big pizza eaters in this house. And stromboli is another family favorite. I wanted to try and do something a little healthier than the mega meat options we usually do, and I found this delicious combination. So tasty!

Ingredients:

Pizza Dough (enough for a large pizza. Could use my recipe here.)

2 cups fresh spinach

1 can artichoke hearts

1 clove garlic

1/2 cup pepper jack cheese

I sauteed the spinach, garlic, and artichoke hearts in a tsp of olive oil in a pan for a few minutes until the spinach was wilted, but not all the way cooked since it would be going in the oven.  Then I put it on a paper towel and tried to get all of the moisture out of it.

This is important, because even when I did this, there were parts of the dough that didn’t bake on the inside because it was too wet.  And I had to take it out of the oven because the outside was cooking at normal temperature.  So just try and get the stuff not so wet.  If you want, you can not saute the spinach at all and put it in fresh.  That would be just as tasty.

I topped the veggies with the cheese, rolled up the dough like a sandwich wrap and sprinkled the top with a bit of Parmesan cheese.  Then you put it in the oven at 400 for 15 – 20 minutes.

You can eat your stromboli, and feel healthy too!

 

Let's Hear It Mommies!