Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes

We’ve decided to do a regular posting here on our blog called Sunday Sweets.  Every Sunday we will post a dessert that we have enjoyed and recommend to be made as soon as possible.  Really.  As soon as possible.

We have a cake shop here in Palmdale called Nadia Cakes.  They are hands down the best cupcakes I have ever eaten.  Last year, in the months preceding my husband’s birthday, he was able to sample quite a few flavors of those cupcakes and had found his favorite.  The Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Brownie Cupcake.

He’s usually not a chocolate cake fan.  He’s a kid at heart and favors the confetti cake and frosting.  But when he kept dropping hints about these cupcakes leading up to his birthday, I knew we’d go a different route.

I wasn’t about to spend $4 a pop for cupcakes for everyone that would come to celebrate with us, so I went off in search of a copycat recipe and I managed to find a pretty good one.

I wanted to do a brownie cupcake but I knew if I ruined it I’d be upset.  I decided to experiment with that on a later date and just go regular cake cupcake.  My husband is a fan of box cakes so I didn’t get to wild there.  I just mixed up a chocolate cake and then added a cup of pudding to the batter to make it extra moist.

For the frosting I used this recipe:

Frosting

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (do not use old-fashioned or freshly ground)
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 teaspoons whipping cream

First I creamed the butter, peanut butter and vanilla extract.  Then I alternated adding the powdered sugar and the whipping cream.  I will say that I used quite a bit more whipping cream than it called for to get the consistency that I wanted, but I don’t know how much more exactly.  Just follow the recipe and then add to your liking.

It was DELICIOUS!  We had enough extra that we sinfully treated ourselves to frosting daily for about a week afterwards.  We put it on graham crakers and animal cookies.  My kids were stealing it out of the fridge by the spoonful.

I topped it off with a bite size Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.

Michael said it was just as close to Nadias as I could get and I was happy for the cheaper version.

We’re still finding new flavors of cupcakes we love at their shop though and definitely recommend a visit if you haven’t been there!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

