Raisin Bran Muffins

I adore soggy cereal.  It’s true.  I like to prepare my cereal at least 5 minutes before I plan to eat it just to make sure that it gets nice and soggy.  Raisin Bran cereal has recently risen to the top of my favorite cereal list.  It tastes so incredibly delectable when it’s soggy that I have a very difficult time restraining myself from pouring one continuous bowl after another.  What could be better than a bowl of soggy Raisin Bran? Well, these muffins come pretty darn close.  Straight out of the oven, they are perfectly crisp on the exterior and super moist and melt-in-your-mouth delicious on the interior.  My salivary glands are working overtime just thinking about it!

I found the recipe a few weeks ago and have already made three batches of them.  They don’t last long in my house.  I do feel a bit guilty when I make them because my husband doesn’t like bran muffins.  So I am very well aware of the sickening fact that nearly every single muffin ends up in my esophagus (or ground in the carpet due to the crumbs that my kids generously drop when I feel so unselfish to share with them).  I did pack a few in my husbands lunch this week knowing that he likes to give his T.A.’s the food that he doesn’t necessarily care for.  His T.A.’s loved them.  Perhaps that’s saying something?

The good part about these muffins is that they really aren’t that unhealthy for you.  There is only a 1/2 cup of sugar in the entire batch.  The sugar that is already contained in the Raisin Bran cereal can be completely disregarded, of course.  Right?  Anyway, here’s the recipe:

Raisin Bran Muffins

Ingredients:

4 cups raisin bran flakes cereal

2 cups milk (I have used whole milk and skim milk…it doesn’t make a difference)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

2 cups flour (white or wheat flour, depending on how healthy you want these to be)

1/2 cup sugar

6 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

(You can also throw in some wheat germ if you want to make it a bit healthier, but that’s not in the original recipe)

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine the 4 cups cereal with 2 cups milk.  Let it sit for about 1/2 an hour so that the cereal gets nice and soggy.  Then add the oil and eggs and mix.  Let it sit a bit longer while you mix the rest of the dry ingredients in a separate bowl.  Combine all the dry ingredients with the soggy cereal and thoroughly mix together.

Place batter in a greased muffin tin.  You can fill up the cups nearly to the top, it doesn’t rise too much.  I have enough batter to generously fill 12 muffin cups, leaving about 1.5 cups of batter left over.  You can always simply make more muffins that same day with the leftover batter, or you can put it in a sealed container in the fridge to make a few days later.  (Or, if you are lazy or impatient short on time like I am you can simply add some milk to the left over batter to make it a bit more runny and cook them on the stove top like pancakes.)

Bake the muffins in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Raisin Bran Muffins

Let's Hear It Mommies!

