Early St. Patrick’s Day Shenanigans

I really love any holiday.  I don’t get into them as much as I would like to.  I have dreams in the back of my mind as to how I want to celebrate each holiday.  You know…the different traditions that I want to start with my family, various crafts that I want to try out, and all sorts of holiday-specific foods (especially desserts) that I want to experiment with.  Somehow, however, most of my ideas rarely come to fruition.

Why?  I start to rationalize my dreams away.  I think to myself that it’s just too expensive to buy the supplies to make a craft that will just sit on the shelf for the duration of one holiday and then go back into storage and collect dust.  Or, I think to myself that my husband doesn’t really care if I do anything special for holidays so I should simply not bother.  As far as dessert is concerned, it’s a known fact that I would end up eating the majority of it and I just don’t need all of that sugar!  It’s funny, really.  I can make a dessert and I have an incredibly easy time telling my kids that they can only have a little bit of it each day.  But when it comes to myself, I have absolutely no self-control!  So it’s simply best to not make anything at all.  Or so I try to convince myself…although I’m not that convincing at times.  Most of the time, actually.  In fact, I made something today even though I commanded myself not to!  Baking is the bane of my existence.

Anyway, St. Patrick’s Day is this Saturday.  I have never done anything to celebrate the holiday before.  I mean, really, there’s not much to celebrate anyway!  But I made a little goal with myself to at least try to make each holiday special, for the sake of the kids.  I looked on line and found a million cute ideas (fancy-shmancy green desserts and a bunch of adorable clover crafts).  However, I ended up rationalizing most of those ideas away.

I decided to keep it cheap and simple.  I only used the food and supplies that we already had in our house.  The result?  A few funny-looking crafts and some strange combination of green colored food.  But hey, my kids enjoyed it!

What do you all do to “celebrate” St. Patrick’s Day?

Let's Hear It Mommies!

