Mommy Time-Out

My sister posted the other day about her husband putting her down for a nap.  Here’s my reverting to childhood admission…Sometimes I need a time-out.

Let me just share three of many examples of when I would like the option to put myself on time-out.

A few weeks ago I was in Ty’s nursery trying for the one millionth time to unsuccessfully get him to nap in his crib.  I nursed him and then rocked him and placed him in his crib.  This whole process took maybe 15 to 20 minutes.  I had told my older two boys to keep themselves busy and as far away as possible from the baby’s door.  I guess keeping themselves busy meant taking off all the pillows and cushions off all of the couches in our house and the proceeding to jump on them while dumping bowls of dry fruitloops, wheat thins and goldfish crackers.  And, I had just vacuumed…of course.

Then just a couple days ago I was making dinner and the boys were playing Candyland in the living room.  I went in to check on them and found that Riley (my two-year old who has been potty-trained for almost a year) had abandoned his little Candyland man at Grandma Nut and taken off all his clothes.  I asked him if he had to go potty.  He replied that he did.  I told him to run to the bathroom.  He calmly said no and then purposefully peed right there on the carpet.

Then there’s mornings like this morning where they aren’t doing anything wrong, it’s just the laws of the universe all coming together in the fact that they didn’t get enough sleep, I didn’t get enough sleep and we are all up for hours before a normal day begins.  Riley wouldn’t stop crying over EVERYTHING.  He got a drop of yogurt on his pajamas.  Mikey’s foot was touching him.  My arm wasn’t letting his head rest the way he wanted it to.

Then there was me.  When I get tired I don’t cry like a baby, I scream like a banshee.  I get angry.  Every little thing either angers or annoys me.  So his drop of yogurt, Mikey’s foot and the whole my arm/his head situation just wanted to make me scream.  I would’ve put him back in bed but those cries just wouldn’t stop and I didn’t want him waking up the baby.

So I dragged him in to my husband who was shaving and getting ready for the day and said, “Take him.  I can’t handle it anymore.”

When these things happen I feel the inner struggle to keep control of myself.  What do I do?  I’ve tried putting the child on time-out.  I’ve tried the yelling approach, the not-yelling approach, the everything between yelling and not yelling approach.  I’ve tried escaping to my room and screaming in a pillow.

What do you Mommies do?  I need a time-out so my kids don’t remember me as the crazy screaming lady when they’re older.  Crazy lady is okay.  Not crazy screaming lady.

So this week with your advice I hope to have a good week.  My fridge may not get cleaned out.   There may or may not be three loads of laundry still in the dryer because I keep adding to it and not even putting it in the basket.  I may even leave a few cars out in the living room when the kids go to bed.

Because I am determined to de-crankify myself.  I am determined to make my kids happy.  I am determined to take the time-outs so they don’t have to.  Well, at least not so often.

And, just so you don’t think my kids are all that bad, I’ll leave you with some sweetness.

Mikey told me today that he loves me 100.  100!

Riley says my name in some form after every sentence.  Really.  I get to hear mom, mama, or mommy a million times a day and it makes me smile.

And Ty is just Ty.  He is sunshine in its purest form.  If you know him then you understand.

2 thoughts on “Mommy Time-Out

  1. I’m so glad I’m not alone! Not glad that you feel this way, but it’s nice to know I’m not the only mom who loses her patiences and yells at her kids. Lol. I totally get you on this post. I don’t cry either, I get impatient, irritated, angry, annoyed, etc. It’s really hard not to and I don’t have an answer either. However, afterwards, I feel bad that I let myself get upset or irritated and used an unkind tone of voice or whatever. I just have to remind myself that it’s not the end of the world, things will get better and that it’s not worth it in the long run to get mad at my kids. However, that is easier said, than done! I usually try and give Anna a hug (she is the one I get irritated with, not usually Alex), and apologize and tell her why I was upset and that I love her. That usually helps to soften the situation. But it is hard! Just tonight, I got very impatient with her and her 10 minute potty routine and not letting me brush her teeth. Blah! We’re so lucky to be mothers, but that doesn’t always make every day giggles and sunshine. Lol. 🙂

    • It does help to know that you’re not alone even though you don’t want other people feeling that way. Ha ha. Thanks for sharing and letting me know that I’m not alone. I try the hug thing too and it always helps on both ends. Sometimes my patience doesn’t let me get there though : ) I guess I’m a work in progress!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

