The Be You Beauty Project

My family went on a little mini-vacation!  It was wonderful…and extremely tiring.  Isn’t that how vacations are when you have little ones?  But I don’t want to talk about vacations today, I’ll save that for another post.

Today, I want to feature another blog.

I came across this blog a few weeks ago and I thought that the idea was absolutely brilliant.  Not to mention incredibly impressive, seeming that the author of the blog, Meagan Tweedy, is only 18 years old!  I asked her if I could feature her blog on my blog (okay, I’m sick of using the word “blog”) and she graciously granted me permission.

As you may have been able to guess by the “Simply Love Yourself” post that I wrote, I have somewhat of an obsession with the subject of body image.  I find it very intriguing and have read a number of books focusing on that topic alone.

What I wish for more than anything in the world (well, aside from a good night’s sleep) is for every woman to feel beautiful!  To simply feel good about themselves, no matter their size (or ethnicity, or hair type, or skin tone, etc.).  Wouldn’t it be absolutely wonderful if every woman truly realized their true potential and actually viewed themselves how God views them?  It would be invigorating if woman everywhere could put forth a valiant effort to stop comparing themselves to others and to be happy (not to mention grateful) with the body that God gave them.

It would be very nice, that’s for sure, but it would also be quite tough.  Because, unfortunately, we all (myself included) struggle with body image and self-esteem issues.  I don’t know about all of you, but I’m just sick and tired of it all!  I have simply had enough.  I am ready to be completely confident.  I am ready to be healthy (physically, mentally, emotionally, socially, and spiritually) and to simply live my life the best that I can.  I don’t want body image issues to get in the way anymore!

Admittedly, I am 20 pounds heavier than I was before baby number three.  I gained more weight with this baby than my other two.  I can’t fit into any of my normal clothes.  When I have to go out in public, it’s a challenge to actually find clothes that I can squeeze into.  But you know what?  It doesn’t bother me.  I’m not depressed about it like I was after giving birth with my first two kids.  Granted, there is a small part of me that wishes I were smaller, but something has definitely changed inside of me.

I have made a conscious choice to be happy with myself.  I am exercising as regularly as possible and I put forth an honest effort to make healthy food choices.  I am watching my portion sizes.  I don’t give into every temptation.  I know enough about nutrition to know which foods would be best to avoid altogether (or at least minimize consumption) and which foods to pig out on (my personal favorites).  I honestly believe that if I am doing my best to be as healthy as possible, than my body will find the weight and size that God intended it to be.

Do you want to know what motivates me, more than anything, to simply love myself?

My daughter.

Yes, it’s true.

What I also wish for more than anything in the world is for my daughter to feel good about herself.  I don’t want her to feel that she has to look a certain way.  I don’t want her to be obsessing with her looks, continuously seeking her flaws.  I don’t want her to feel like she needs to weigh herself every day or that she needs to suffer and do without certain foods in an effort to conform with the social norm.  I want her to have a mother who puts forth an effort to be healthy and is simply at peace with the body that God has blessed her with.

Since my daughter was born, even though I haven’t always felt good about myself, I have never voiced those feelings around her.  I have always known that it can’t be good for a daughter to hear her mother constantly degrading herself.

Maybe, just maybe, if I am the kind of mother who is genuinely happy with myself (despite all of my flaws), than perhaps I will have a daughter who is genuinely happy with herself as well.

That is my true hope and motivation.

Anyway, back to the blog that I am featuring.  I got a tad bit sidetracked!  This blog is called “The Be You Beauty Project” and its purpose is to provide a place “…where woman can go to and share their frustrations, their stories, and what makes it all better.”  Meagan, the author of the blog, desires to “…reach woman of all ages, all backgrounds, and from all over.”

Although the blog is still in its infancy, there are already a few stories featured on it.  Each story includes a picture of a woman (with no makeup on), text, and a video interview in which the woman discusses her individual self-esteem challenges and what she did (or is doing) to overcome those challenges.

The idea is simply brilliant, I tell you.

So please, please, please check out her blog!  And if you live in the area (Antelope Valley) contact Meagan and agree to be featured on her blog!

In the meantime, please be kind to yourself.  You are of infinite worth and God doesn’t make junk!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

