1st verses 3rd

As I was looking through our “photo album” on our computer recently, I couldn’t help but feel sorry for baby number three.  On the day he turned two months old I literally had to force myself to dust off the camera and snap a quick picture of him for the sake of posterity.  I did the exact same thing on his one month anniversary.  Poor, poor child.  If it weren’t for the fact that my parents (who are excellent photographers) have made a few quick visits during his short life, there might not have been any other pictures of him aside from those monthly shots.

On the contrary, when Lizzie (my oldest) was born I apparently had nothing better to do than to take pictures of her.  I’m not exaggerating when I say that nearly every second of her existence was documented.  In looking through our “photo album”, I have found pictures that were taken on a bi-weekly basis depicting  the amazing growth of her left ear lobe as well as the soles of her feet.  I was in awe, I tell you, at how quickly my baby girl was growing up.  Don’t you worry, her hair growth was documented daily.  When she opened her eyes and looked at me, although I nearly passed out from the excitement of it all, I still managed to grab the camera and take no less then ninety seven pictures before she returned to dreamland.  Every new outfit that she sported (and I often changed her outfit three or four times per day) was followed by a three hour photo shoot, in a variety of backgrounds.  I would prop her up in her crib, on the couch, on each of her seventeen different pink blankets, inside her swing, in the car seat, in the shopping cart, in the bathtub, and I would even occasionally take pictures of myself holding her.  All of this for the sake of posterity.

I am absolutely ashamed at the kind of photographer that I have become.  I am vowing to change this neglectful habit right now.  I happen to think that my little Mason-Man is one of the most adorable creatures on the planet and I just can’t go another day without documenting his cuteness.  At the rate I’m going, no one will even be aware of any of our future children until they receive their wedding announcements in the mail.

And that, my friends, is simply unacceptable.

One thought on “1st verses 3rd

  1. Well, in all fairness, it seems you went overboard with Lizzie, probably were normal with Bryce and just need to up it a notch with Mason. Lol. I can only imagine how busy you are and it’s hard to think of whipping out the camera when you have so much going on. I was the 5th of 6 kids and I think I have like 10-15 pictures total of my childhood, no joke. Maybe keep the camera out where you can see it, but away from the kids. Good luck! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

