Burlap Easter Banner

Have you had enough burlap yet?  I sure haven’t.  I had some extra burlap from my pillows and have been wanting to make a banner of some sort for a long time.  I decided that my two Easter decorations just weren’t cutting it and came up with something I thought would be nice.  For the record, in my head this looked nicer.  Doesn’t it always?  The version in my head had aged book/song pages behind it instead of just plain paper, but I didn’t get it in gear soon enough to make that happen.  The message is still clear though, and that is the most important thing.  Here’s the how-to:

I cut nine pieces (one for each letter) out of burlap.  They are 4×3 inches.

Then I got my letter stencils and I just used a sharpie to trace my letters on the burlap because of the nature of the burlap.

Then I used Fabri-tac and put a dot of it in each corner and placed it on the scrapbook paper (5×4 inches) I had cut out.  I used Fabri-tac because I didn’t feel like sewing it on and sometimes when I use hot glue for things like this it dries before I can put it on and then it doesn’t glue right.  I thought Fabri-tac would be a good fit for the burlap.

Then I glued the letters to a ribbon and hung them above my mantle.  Non-traditional, I know, but it works for us.  I’m loving my new banner and Mikey is loving reading the letters and knowing what the sign is saying.  And like I said, that’s the most important thing, right?

Posted in DIY

Let's Hear It Mommies!

