My Salisbury Steak

I’m a meatloaf gal, but my husband doesn’t care for it much.  As such, I came up with this recipe early in our marriage in an effort to secretly satisfy my meatloaf craving.  Essentially, it’s just a mini meatloaf with sauteed onions and mushrooms on top!  While my husband likes to pour beef gravy over his, I like to dip mine in ketchup (it tastes more like meatloaf that way). 🙂

My Salisbury Steak Recipe

1 lb lean ground  beef (thawed)

1 egg

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1 package of dry onion soup mix

1/4 cup diced bell pepper (any color works)

1/4 cup diced purple onion

2 teaspoons crushed garlic

2 Tablespoons Ketchup

2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon prepared mustard

1 teaspoon ground black pepper (or less)

1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes

Directions:

Mix all of the ingredients together (I use a wooden spoon at first and than use my bare hands).  Form 5-6 balls with the meat mixture and flatten into patties.  Warm up a large frying pan to medium/low heat.  Place the patties inside of the skillet.  The trick is to cook them slowly.  I usually cover my pan with a lid as well.  Keep flipping the patties over until the juices run clear and the meat is no longer pink.  I like to turn up the heat a bit at the end to make them a little crispier on the outside.

While the meat is cooking, if you desire, you can saute some onion and mushrooms to serve on top of the Salisbury steaks.

Well, there you have it.  My secret “meatloaf” recipe. 🙂

Hope you enjoy it!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

