I Am Busy and Have My Hands Full

There really isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t hear from a perfect stranger that I sure am busy or I have my hands full.

Granted it’s usually said when I’m at the store and I’m taking the chips away from one child, the Power Ranger sword from another, and fetching my baby’s bottle as it’s rolling across the floor.

But sometimes people say it to me when all the kids are behaving nicely and I even have a smile on my face! (which isn’t often when I’m taking all my kids grocery shopping with me)

The worst part, is that I know it’s true.  I do have my hands full.  Constantly!  Even as I write this my six-month old baby is trying to help and push all the keys on the keyboard.

He’s supposed to be napping but he decided last week that he doesn’t like to do that anymore.  Unless it’s five minutes before we need to go somewhere.  Then he’s so tired he tells us all about it.  Very loudly.

This would be the perfect time to get things done because without fail, my second son falls asleep in the car on the way home from dropping my oldest son off at preschool.

He’ll nap everyday  for a couple of hours.  Unless my little one screams in protest or squeals in delight.  But for the most part, I’m two-year old free for a two-hour section in the middle of the day.  Also four-year old free because he’s at preschool.  But rarely baby free.

So I do everything with my hands full or with a baby close by at my feet.  And that makes things busy.

I’ve had this conversation with more than one friend and I’ve seem to come upon a general consensus.  What was I thinking when I thought one baby was hard?

This is what my typical day was like when my oldest baby was a little older than my youngest now:

We would wake up around six in the morning and say goodbye to daddy as he left for work.  Then we would meet up with some other mommy friends and work out for two hours with our kids in strollers.  (Best time ever…miss it daily.)

Then we’d get home and I’d feed him a banana, nurse him and put him down for a nap by nine.  I would shower and then put myself down for a nap.  He wouldn’t get up until noon so I would lounge around all morning after my nap, reading, eating, sometimes cleaning.

Then, after lunch, we’d spend a couple of hours playing or walking around outside.  After which, he’d take another nap from 3:30 tp 4:30 and then I’d feed him dinner and he would go to bed by six.

Hard?  I can’t see why.  Lonely?  Maybe.  Boring?  Probably.  But hard?  Oh sometimes my selfish mind wishes for the good old days.

Don’t get me wrong, I would never wish one of my children away.  I just wish they would all go to bed at the same time, wake up at the same time, behave at the same time, nap at the same time and eat all their meals at the same time.  Is that so much to ask?

Because now my typical day is still waking up at six, often earlier, and spending the next three hours (and into the rest of the day), feeding, dressing, refereeing, rocking, soothing, kissing, hugging, playing with one child or another.  They don’t all need something at the same time.  And if they do, it’s not the same thing.

Sometimes I don’t get a meal until almost ten when I put my baby down for his second half hour nap of the day and that is often interrupted by a quick crawl around the living room rug with a car or a five-minute shower.

Life is definitely busy!  My hands are definitely full!

But there’s something that I have to remind myself before I feel like I have lost all control over my life and anytime to spend on me.

My hands may be full, but so is my heart.

I get to be around my kids all day and see the funny things they pick up on or hear the sweet things they say to me.

Mikey just learned the “Who’s on First” skit with daddy.  It’s HILARIOUS!

Riley adapted Mikey’s nighttime routine and he now gets a butterfly kiss, nose rub, cheeksy, and kiss before he goes to bed.  And multiple times throughout the day.

Ty looks at me and says Mmmmaaa…..Mmmmmaaa…..Mama?  I’m telling myself that.

So if a busy life and full hands also means a full heart…I’ll take it.

One thought on “I Am Busy and Have My Hands Full

Let's Hear It Mommies!

