Long Days and Broken Clocks

I usually try to put forth an honest effort to be somewhat positive in writing these posts, but I am going to use my prerogative today and simply vent.  I need it!  🙂

Do you ever have those days when the clock seems to stand still?

Today was one of such days.

It’s always more difficult on the days when I know that Jon won’t be coming home until late.  It’s on these days that I truly ache for those women who are either single, widowed, or their husbands have jobs in which they travel a lot.  I can barely survive a day when I know that my husband probably won’t make it home until 9:00 at night.  How in the world do other women manage?  I feel like such a baby sometimes!

Perhaps I am too dependent on my husband.

Anyway, the clock moved at least a zillion times slower than usual today.  By 8:30 in the morning, the kids had already watched their allotted amount of T.V., we were playing outside on our playground, and Bryce was asking for Macaroni and Cheese.  No, he wasn’t just asking for it.  He was whining and crying and screaming about it.  He has become somewhat obsessed with Macaroni and Cheese lately.  If it was the homemade kind it wouldn’t bother me as much.  But, of course, what kid chooses homemade Mac-n-Cheese over Kraft?  All of the added sodium and MSG makes a difference, you know.

I gave them a snack to see if it would hold them over until lunch.  It was worth a try, anyway.  I ended up making Bryce his Mac-n-Cheese at 10:50.  He ate a second lunch with Lizzie at 12:00.  That boy has quite the appetite, I tell you.

Speaking of appetite, it’s on the days in which the clock stands still that I seem to eat way more than I should.  I’m not any more hungry than usual, I just have a tendency to be more of an emotional eater on days like today.  And then I just feel plain yucky because I know that my body can’t possibly use all of those calories, breastfeeding or not.

When the clock stands still, I can’t seem to get in my groove.  I feel like I’m in one of those dreams where you run and run and run and never arrive at your destination.  I keep changing up the activities with the kids.  We read books, we play games, I feed Mason and try to give him a nap, we eat, we drink, we listen to music, etc.  We do all of those things and, according to the clock, only a mere fifteen minutes had passed.

What is wrong with this picture?

Before today, I hadn’t yet gone on a walk with all of my kids at the same time.  I miss walking so much.  Today, since the clock was broken, I decided to try it out.  Mason is able to face forward in my front carrier now (he screamed when I tried to put him in it when he had to face towards me).  So I put Mason in the front carrier and the other two were in our double stroller.  Lizzie and Bryce were elated.  I guess that they miss going on our daily walks as much as I do! 🙂

We walked around the entire block (at least 2 miles less than we used to walk on a regular basis).  I had to cut our walk short because it was windy and poor Mason was having a hard time breathing.  Our little walk gave me hope, however, that perhaps longer walks are in our future. 🙂

We played outside a bit more.

I read more books.

I picked up the toys.

I tried to keep Bryce from smothering Mason.

I cheated on my T.V. rule and we watched a little more.

I picked up the toys.

I gave the kids chocolate milk.

I played a few games of Candy Land with Lizzie while Bryce had some much needed alone time in his room.

I tried to keep Mason happy.

We ate leftover homemade pizza for dinner.

I told the kids to pick up the books and toys.

I gave Mason a bath.

Everyone else got ready for bed.

We brushed our teeth.

We read “The Friend”.

By this time, the clock really had to be broken because for some reason it was telling me that it was only 6:45 p.m.

What in the world was I supposed to do?

I put the kids to bed.  Early.  And yes, it is currently 8:20 and they are all still asleep. 🙂

After the kids were sleeping peacefully, I cleaned the kitchen.

I should really clean the desk in our bedroom, but it hurts too much to even look at the disorganized piles of paper.  So that chore will have to wait.

What to do next?

I should actually put the laundry away instead of having it collect dust in the laundry basket.

Even with the kids temporarily out of the picture, this never-ending day is dragging on and on.

Well, I was really hoping that my husband would be home by the time I was finished venting, but I had no such luck.  I’m still alone.  I’m going to go and read my scriptures.  Maybe, just maybe, they will help me feel better! 🙂

I really don’t want to be an annoying wife and nag my husband right when he walks in the door, but I can’t stop myself today.  I’m going to be annoying and ask him to fix our clock!  Because if it’s broken again tomorrow, than I’m going to end up pulling all of my hair out! 🙂

What about you all?  Do your clocks have a tendency to break on occasion?

One thought on “Long Days and Broken Clocks

  1. I always feel that way! Time is such a funny thing, Lately mine has been running fast and I’m late for everything! It rarely runs right, But those long says are hard. Next time come over! I invited myself over to your house last time my clock broke 😉

Let's Hear It Mommies!

