Color Car Mat

I made this color car mat for Bryce shortly after he turned two.  I was having a hard time teaching him is colors in a way that would capture his interest, so when I found a similar idea online, I knew that I had to make one for him.  The one that I saw online was made out of construction paper, however, I wanted to make his a little more sturdier.  Bryce has been playing with it now for about 7 months and it is still in one piece! 🙂

Materials Needed

1 piece of cardboard from a diaper box (or cereal box)

1 large black piece of felt

14 scrap pieces of different color felt

Hot glue gun/glue sticks

Basic Instructions

Hot glue the large black piece of felt to the cardboard.  Trim the edges.  With the scrap pieces of colored felt, cut 14 identical rectangles, large enough to fit a match car on.  Glue the rectangles on the black felt (7 on each side).  To make the road in the middle, cut out white (or yellow) lines and glue them on.

That’s it!

Bryce really loves this car mat.  It helped him learn his colors as well as work on his matching skills.

A definite winner in my book! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

