Jinxed

I have a special power.  Sure some people with powers can fly, or turn invisible.  I have a power that turns everything I say into the opposite.  I am jinxed.  Really.  Let me give just a few examples.

We had heard over and over again that when your kids start school, they will be sick so much more than they used to.  Mikey started preschool this year and we waited for him to bring all the illnesses home.  We expected pink eye and chicken pox.  We made it through most of the year with nothing.  I had a conversation with a friend about how lucky we were that Mikey hadn’t been too sick this year.  BAM!  Mikey was home sick for a week with a horrible fever, cough and runny nose.  And he passed it to both of his brothers.

Jinxed.

Someone told me a couple of months ago that Riley was so well-behaved.  He was a mischievous, curious little guy, but he didn’t throw tantrums like other kids his age and he was so sweet.  I started thinking about it and spoke with my husband.  We decided that yes, that person was right.  Riley threw the occasional tantrum, but it really wasn’t that bad.  We were so lucky!  WHAM!  Riley will not stop throwing tantrums.  He went on an exact 18 time-outs today.  He will talk back copy cat style, spit, throw himself on the floor, scream, wail, writhe around, hit, kick, slam doors…constantly.  What happened to my sweet little boy?

Jinxed.

With my first two sons, they woke up every two hours until they were six-months-old.  Then they woke up a couple of times a night until I stopped nursing them. And actually, sometimes Riley will still wake up a couple of times a night.  Mikey, I think, finally has it down.  (But I will see where saying that gets me.)  When Ty was 2-months-old he started sleeping from 6 or 7 at night until 5 or 6 in the morning.  It was heavenly!  This lasted for a month or so and I thought we had finally got one of those kids that people had always told us about.  The kind that slept through the night.  I told my mother how lucky we were that our new son was sleeping so well.  KABLAM! Ty stopped sleeping through the night.  Still today he is sporadic and inconsistent.  One night he’ll go eight hours without waking up, the next I can’t get him to calm down and am up every half an hour.

Jinxed.

I am seriously at the point where I whisper my gratitude silently to the heavens and don’t share good news with anybody because I’m afraid I will lose it.  Maybe I need to be more humble.  Maybe I need to learn to think before I speak.  Maybe I need to do a little research and figure out a better way to channel my powers.  Because this one isn’t working for me.

Shall we test it?  Tonight, life is good.  My kids are sleeping, the chores are done, and the Lakers are winning.  C’mon…break the jinx!  I’ll let you know how things turn out 😉 )

One thought on “Jinxed

  1. Oh my, you really are jinxed! 🙂 That happens to me to, though not as bad as you, I guess. Just a couple of weeks ago, I was thinking about how it had been so long that I had been really sick, not just a runny nose or a sore throat, but feeling awful, kind of sick. And then the next day, I got really sick and felt awful. I’m jinxed! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

