Homemade Word Puzzles

As I think that I have mentioned previously, there are so many educational toys that I want to buy for my children.  But I am hesitant because I don’t want to spend money on those types of things if they aren’t going to use them.  As such, I try to improvise a bit and come up with my own version of the things that I really want to buy.

I love all things Melissa and Doug.  There is just something appealing to me about the large variety of colorful, sturdy, wooden educational toys.

I know this sounds silly, but I have been wanting to buy their wooden alphabet puzzle for a long time.

What did I do instead?

I bought some wooden alphabet pieces from the Dollar Tree (I love that place!).  I put them in alphabetical order on a piece of card stock, traced around them with a marker, and put it inside of a page protector.  The result?  A wooden alphabet puzzle…sort of. 🙂

I have also had my eye on those “See and Spell” puzzles for a while now.  I was looking on an educational website a while ago and saw an idea in which you can make your own such puzzles using Melissa and Doug letter puzzle pieces.  Well, I did the same thing using my Dollar Tree letters. 🙂

I printed out a bunch of pictures to go with simple 3-letter words (I am going to make longer word cards in the near future).  I traced the letters of the word right below the picture on the card.  Lizzie matches the letters with the outline, sounds them out, and forms the word.  Reading.

I know this all seems so simple, but Lizzie enjoys these types of things.

Bryce continues to show a lack of interest in most things educational.  I try with him, but I’m not going to push it.

When he’s ready, however, I’ll be prepared. 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

