A Mother’s Day Perspective

In the weeks leading up to Mother’s Day, I start thinking about the day coming up and how special it’s going to be.  About how my son will sing to me in church, breakfast in bed, not having to lift a finger to do anything normal all day long.  Sigh.  How relaxing.  I look forward to it every year.  I always tell my husband that I don’t care if he BUYS me anything, I just want to sleep in and get a break from my daily duties.

Yesterday, my husband and two older sons had been gone overnight at a Father’s and Sons campout and I was well into the withdrawals that usually start within the first hour of being separated from anyone in my family.  I started thinking about how my Mother’s Day would be and I had an epiphany.  Why would I want a break from all those special things that bring me honor on this day?  It was like I took a step away from my own life and heard myself saying, I love Mother’s Day, but I’m not waking up with my kids, I’m not getting them dressed, I’m not going to change a diaper or get them food or do anything for them all day.  Aren’t I the BEST mother?

I had a change of heart.  This Mother’s Day I was going to be the best mother I could be.  I was going to MOTHER my children on Mother’s Day.  Not a novel idea, I’m sure, but I’m a bit slow sometimes.

Today I woke up with my kids and spent a good 20 minutes longer than normal nursing my baby, just soaking up every ounce of his softness and his smell.  Then we moved into the kitchen and had a family snuggle between three breakfasts and coloring and trains and playing farm.  It was glorious!  Way better than sitting in bed by myself just because this was the day I was supposed sleep in, even if I’m awake and hearing everything that’s going on and even if I got enough sleep the night before.

Today has been a special Mother’s Day for me.  I know how blessed I am.  Tonight I will thank God with all my heart that I have three healthy babies and we are growing and learning together and that I got to spend this wonderful day being the mother that they allow me to be by just existing.

Tonight I will pray for my friend who has tried multiple times to get pregnant and a few weeks ago just found out that she had lost another pregnancy, about half way through.  She is a strong momma.

Tonight I will pray for my friend who probably spent her Mother’s Day at her babies headstone that was just placed weeks ago.  She is a valiant momma.

Tonight I will pray for my friend whose son came home from his second tour in Iraq so he could spend more time with his kids, just to be shot and killed at work the next week.  She is a brave momma.

Tonight I will pray for my friend who was due to have her baby in just a few short weeks and because of complications with the cord around the neck, delivered early this morning, and lost her baby.  She is a resilient momma.

Tonight I will pray for my friend who welcomed her third baby into the world on this most special day and is having probably one of the best Mother’s Day she could ever imagine. She is a happy momma.

I am sure all of these mothers are those kind of mother’s who would wake up with their kids on Mother’s Day.

I’m going to every year from now…just because I can.

And for that, I will be eternally grateful.

One thought on “A Mother’s Day Perspective

  1. How sweet Tara. That almost made me cry, those poor mommies. It makes me want to hold my baby tighter and be grateful I get to wake up with her each morning. I know you feel bad about it, but it’s good to get a break once in a while. You are one of the best moms I know. 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

