We LOVE Dr. Suess

Oh, how I love my little Mason-Man!

We are obsessed with Dr. Suess at our house.  We have quite a few of his books and the kids adore them all.  Surprisingly, I never get sick of reading them to the kids either.  In fact, I like them so much that I often find myself begging my kids to allow me the opportunity of reading those books over any other book on our shelf (and we have quite the collection, thanks to the bi-annual local library book sales).

I thought that it would be fun to do a few Dr. Suess activities with the kids.  I looked on the internet (one of my best friends) and found a ton of ideas.  We spread the activities out over a few days and the kids really enjoyed them.  I had quite a few more activities planned as well but life got in the way and we never got around to them.  We’ll get to them soon though.  There’s no hurry. 🙂

I made “Cat in the Hat” pancakes for them one morning.  I just dyed pancake batter red and then put whipping cream on top for the stripes.  Since then, Bryce is always asking for “Cat Hat Pancakes”.

We made “Cat in the Hat” Pizza one day for lunch.  It was also a big hit with the kids.

I free-handed a picture of “Pop” from “Hop on Pop” onto an old table cloth.  I am NOT an artist, by any means, but my kids were somehow able to tell what it was supposed to resemble. 🙂

The kids had fun hopping on pop while chanting “Hop, hop, we like to hop.  We like to hop on top of pop.  Stop!  You must not hop on pop!” 🙂

We did a little goldfish graphing for “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish”.

Recently, both of the kids have been obsessed with the book “The Lorax”.  Lizzie was able to watch the new movie in the theaters a few months ago with my parents.  I was so jealous. 🙂  We have been watching the old-school Lorax movie on YouTube and both of the kids love it.

I had no idea how much the kids would love these little simple Lorax puppets that I quickly threw together out of felt, googly eyes, and a bit of yarn.

I thought that it would be cool to make some truffula trees as well, so they made some by gluing some pom poms onto popsicle sticks.

Immediately after the glue dried, they started playing with them.  Lizzie gathered all of the characters from the book (a brown barbaloot, a swamee swan, a fish, the onceler, and a thneed), set up a stage on her bed, and acted out the book while I read it.  I was so amazed with how much of the book she has memorized.  There were plenty of times when I would start reading a sentence and then she would take over and finish the entire page all by herself.

She performed the play so many times.  She even made fake tickets and made me buy them before coming into her room to see the play.

I loved every minute of it.

My husband happened to have the camera at work that day, but I told Lizzie that she has to act it out again so that I can video tape it for posterity.

Anyway, these activities were all really easy to implement and they made the kids happy.  In fact, I quite enjoyed them myself. 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

