Felt Cake and Ice Cream

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I have somewhat of an obsession with felt.  I love the options for creativity that it offers!

Anyway, my kids have been talking a lot about ice cream lately, particularly since the ice cream truck is already running its rounds around our neighborhood on a daily basis.  I thought that it would be fun for them to have some felt ice cream cones to play with.  Cheap and easy fun!  I made a lot more than I had anticipated making because they both kept wanting me to cut out more and more cones and ice cream (especially the strawberry kind).  And since I happened to have plenty of felt for more, I happily consented. 🙂

I must say that Bryce enjoyed the cones a lot more than Lizzie did, although Lizzie certainly enjoyed it as well.

I didn’t get a picture of all of the cones that Bryce created, but there were quite a few spread across our carpet!

Since Bryce had so much fun with the ice cream cones, I wanted to make something fun for Lizzie too.  So I made her a felt tier cake for her to decorate.

I simply cut out 4 tiers with one piece of white felt,

as well as a bunch of random felt pieces that she could use to decorate her cake with, including the candles.

She really wanted pink flowers, but I made so many strawberry ice cream cones for Bryce that I ran out of pink felt!

Lizzie had fun decorating her own cake!

I made one for Bryce as well, but Lizzie ended up finishing it for him.

Fun stuff! 🙂

One thought on “Felt Cake and Ice Cream

  1. this is such a cute idea! Anna would LOVE this. She’s always making things into an “ice cream” cone. Love the cake too. I’m going to have to do this for her. Thanks for sharing!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

