Banana Bread

I have to start out by being honest.  This picture is not of my banana bread.  I got it from here.  But my cord that goes to my camera is nowhere to be found and I really wanted to post about this banana bread that I have been eating non-stop for the past three days.  And this banana bread looks pretty tasty.   Almost as tasty as mine actually is.

I got the recipe from my mom.  It seriously makes the most moist (sorry Michael 😉 )  and tasty banana bread I have ever tried.  That is not an exaggeration.  This recipe has turned me into a banana bread snob.  I’m not a nut fan, so you won’t find them in there, but feel free to add them if you like.

Also, one of the secrets to a perfectly textured loaf is to use mini-pans.  I always double this recipe so it makes 8 mini-loaves instead of 2 big loaves and even after a week, there isn’t a dry bite.  But, if you only have big bread pans, of course those will work too.

Banana Bread

1 cup sugar

1 cup mashed bananas

1/2 cup shortening

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

First thing I do is mash up a cup of bananas.  I add a 1/4 to a 1/2 cup extra for extra moisture.  Make sure to mash it up really good so there aren’t any banana chunks in the batter.  It takes a while, but it’s worth it.  Then you mix the sugar, bananas, shortening and eggs until well blended.

In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients, and then add to the banana mixture.

Grease one large loaf pan or 4 mini-loaf pans and pour batter about half full.

If you are using a regular size loaf pan, it will take 60 minutes at 350 degrees until it’s finished.

If you use the mini-pans, it only takes 30 minutes at 350 degrees to cook.

Wait five minutes or so and then remove from pan and cool on wire rack.

I know a lot of people are fans of banana bread fresh from the oven with some butter on it, but take my word for it.  Eat a little bit at first, but wrap up the rest in plastic wrap and wait until the next day.  It only gets softer and sweeter that way.  Mmmmm.  Gotta go eat another loaf!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

