Reading Nook

This story begins while I was returning my neighbor’s wheelbarrow to their backyard a couple of weeks back when we were putting sod in our backyard.  As I was placing the wheelbarrow in its designated spot, I saw a chair next to it.  It was all real wood and covered in dirt and a little weathered.  But all I saw was how beautiful it would look in my house.

Being the nosy neighbor that I am, I texted my friend asking her if I could have the chair if she was just going to throw it away.  Now, this just shows how cool this girl is.  She not only brought the chair over, but she still comes over and lets her kids play at my house.  Me, the crazy dig through her trash lady.  Yep, she’s a keeper.

And so was this chair.

I went to the store right away and bought some aqua paint.  It wasn’t called that, but that’s what it looks like.  I have always wanted an aqua chair.  Don’t ask me why.

So before I painted the chair, I thought I would stop by Good Will because a matching bookshelf would just make it all even that much better.  It was my lucky day.  I walked in, saw this beauty first thing and put it on the counter.  It was only $2.99!

It had these branches and leaves on the back and it wasn’t pretty.  But it would be.

After only a couple of hours of actual labor (sanding and painting), and a day or two of drying time, we have a new reading nook in our kitchen.

I got lazy and just put contact paper on the back, didn’t even remove the leaves, but with the books on you can’t tell, so I didn’t let it bother me.  It adds a pop of color and the kids love to sit in the chair right next to the bookshelf.

Gotta love Good Neighbors and Good Will.

Posted in DIY

One thought on “Reading Nook

  1. Wow, those are so cute!!! I can’t believe you got that bookcase for only $3! And you can’t beat a free chair! Good job, they both look great!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

