“Are we there yet?”

We just returned from a nine day vacation.

If we would have driven straight through, we would have arrived at our destination (my parents house) in twelve hours.  However, anyone with young kids knows perfectly well that a twelve hour trip ends up being a twenty-one hour trip.  As such, we decided to split the drive into two days.  I don’t regret that decision.

On the day that we left for my parents house, my husband and I had perfectly good intentions of leaving our house at 4:00 in the morning.  When our alarm went off at 3:30 a.m., however, we conversed silently with our eyes and quickly put our heads back on our pillows.  What was the rush, anyway?

Ultimately, by the time we filled up our van with gas and hit the road it was nearly 7:00.  By 7:15, Lizzie and Bryce were already driving us crazy.  They had never behaved like this in the car before.  They couldn’t keep their hands off of each other.  The dreaded “Are we there yet?”, “Can I have a snack?”, “What are we having for lunch”, and “Can we watch a movie?” questions had already left their lips seven times each and I just knew that it was going to be a long trip.

This was the longest car ride that Mason had ever been on.  We learned very quickly that unless he was sleeping, he was simply unhappy in his car seat.  I should have brought my ear plugs.

I really should have kept track of how many times Lizzie asked the question “Are we there yet?”.  I am not exaggerating when I say that it was nearly every other minute.  We finally just answered her “Yes” every time she asked.  Everywhere is somewhere, right?

Well, we eventually made it to my parents house and kept ourselves busy for six days.

The day before we returned home we noticed that my parents had an unused desk and dresser sitting in one of their spare rooms.  This desk and dresser had been my moms when she was a little girl and it was then passed on to me.  Jon and I thought that it would be appropriate to continue to pass the furniture down to Lizzie.  After all, she will be turning five in August and we still haven’t purchased her a proper dresser yet (she has been using a few of those cheap, yet functional, plastic bins from Walmart).

The decision was made to try and fit the furniture into our van.  We put the dresser on its side in the very back of our van behind the back seats.  That left no room for anything that was there originally.  In our van, we are able to take the seats in and out.  Fortunately, we left one of the seats at home.  Jon was able to split the desk into three pieces and we stuck it in the place where the missing seat should have been.  We still had to find room for our two suitcases (one large, one medium-sized), an umbrella stroller, a wagon, a large laundry basket full of junk, two sleeping bags, one pillow, two picture frames that we had just purchased, my over-sized diaper bag, and other miscellaneous items.  Oh, and we had to fit our three kids in there as well.

It was a struggle, but we did it.  We all fit.  The only bad part was that the stuff was piled up so high that we couldn’t see out of our back window.  And we couldn’t see our children either.  I could hear them, although the sound was pretty muted.  Hmmm…a blessing in disguise? 🙂

Due to the fact that I couldn’t see my children, after nearly two hours of driving Jon and I started smelling something rancid.  We pulled over only to find that Bryce had puked all over himself and his car seat.  Apparently, he either didn’t notice that he puked or he enjoyed bathing in the warmth of his vomit because he was fast asleep.  Also adding to the stench was baby poop.  You know, the sweet-sour smell of watery yellow poop.  This time, it had oozed out of Mason’s diaper and had gotten on his car seat and all over his clothing.

A quick clean-up and we were on our way.

I’m pretty sure that I was on drugs unknowingly during the ride home.  I could not stay awake for the life of me.  My poor husband ended up driving nearly the entire way.  I suppose that my lack of sleep for the entire vacation, due to the fact that Mason and I shared a twin-sized sleeping bag, had finally gotten to me!

We eventually all made it home in one piece.

I love vacations, I truly do.  The only thing that I don’t like about them is the fact that we end up eating out way too much.  It’s disgusting, really.  I just feel plain gross after vacations.  Jon and I decided that we need to go on a fast-food detoxification diet and only eat fresh foods for the next month or so.  Sounds like a plan to me!

Speaking of diets, my sister and I started the “Eight-Week Challenge” a few weeks ago.  I was a little disappointed when I started the challenge because I realized that I wasn’t really making any drastic changes in my diet.  I already ate fairly healthy.  I already didn’t eat past 8:00 at night.  I already exercised.  I was certain that things were going to stay as stagnant as they had been for the past few months.

Well, I surprisingly lost two pounds the first week.  Then something completely ironic happened.  I tried extra hard the next week to be perfectly healthy.  I’m talking no junk food whatsoever and hard-core exercising.  At the end of the week, I had gained one pound from the previous week.

We were going to be going on vacation the next week and so I told myself to just forget about the challenge and pick it up again when I got back.  While on vacation, I didn’t exercise once.  I ate a lot more junk food than I had allowed myself in months.  To put it bluntly, I felt like crap!  Too much junk food doesn’t agree with me.

I weighed myself when I got home absolutely certain that I had gained no less than ten pounds while on vacation.  I just felt bloated and gross!  Ironically, I had lost five pounds from week one of the challenge.

My conclusion?

Scales stink.

In reality, I don’t really care how much I weigh.  I just want to feel good!  I want to feel healthy and strong.  If I truly cared about the pounds lost, I would think to myself “Wow!  I lost five pounds without exercising and eating junk food!  It’s the dream diet!  I’m not caring about being healthy ever again!”.  If that were the case, however, I would feel absolutely miserable and gross because that’s how I feel when I don’t eat healthy and I don’t exercise.

Let’s face it, I’m addicted to being healthy.

I exercised today.  I probably gained the five pounds back.  How can I tell?  Because as I’m sitting here typing this I had to undo the button and the zipper on my pants. 🙂

But I ate healthy today and I feel great!

Anyway, forgive me for this completely random post.  Hope y’all have a fantastic day! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

