Today I Faced My Fear

(this picture was taken two summers ago at Santa Monica Pier) 

I know this may seem like a small feat for some, but I had quite the inner struggle with this choice.

I am quite certain that it has been over 15 years since anyone has seen me in a swimsuit.  No, I didn’t hole up for all those years and never go anywhere with water activities.  I just attended in full garb complete with boardshorts and tank top.

Today my friend came over with her kiddos to swim and I took the plunge and went bare-suited.

Even though I was dripping in insecurities and covered in anxiety, all my cellulite and varicose veins were out there for the whole backyard to see.

And I survived.

I’m not strong enough to make this a regular occurence but this was a breakthrough for me.  No, it doesn’t have to do with being a mommy or a wife, but it will definitely affect those roles because I’m trying to work on myself as a person.

And today I made some big steps in the right direction.

3 thoughts on “Today I Faced My Fear

  1. Good for you! I have yet to put myself in a bathing suit. I have never been in one and I’m just not comfortable with exposing that much of myself in public.

    • Thanks for not laughing at me 😉 And you don’t have anything to worry about. But yes, good thing, cus we’re swimming everyday this summer 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

