Heaven Is Here

(Heaven Is Here)

This week has been hard on me.  My husband got an earful of how I’d failed as a mother because Riley spends his days talking back, spitting on me, defying me, or ignoring me.  When it’s time for bed, it takes hours to get them asleep.  We’re seriously considering turning our office into a bedroom just to separate them.  But…that’s not the point of this post.

I was feeling really down on myself and wondering how I could not freak out on him and try to make a difference.  I’m sure other mothers have experienced the feelings that if their kid is doing something wrong, it is their fault.  I went through this with Mikey’s terrible threes and it’s just running it’s course again.

It seems that Life seems to know when I think I have it hard, and It wants to remind me just how wrong I am.

I’ve been following the NieNie Dialogues for a while now.  When she wrote her book, I couldn’t wait to read it.  It’s a massive understatement to say that she is an inspiration.

To be able to read in detail just what goes into recovering from an airplane crash where 80% of your body is burned was heart wrenching and addictive.  I already knew where she was today, but I just had to keep reading to see how she made it through.

When you read about somebody who truly has struggles in their life and who has pure gratitude to be alive and be a mother, wife, daughter, sister and woman, you try to emulate that attitude in your own life, without having to go through the hard part to get there.

If you are like me and need constant reminders about how good you have it, or you just want to read a true story of hope, please read this book.  It was a quick read that is sure to inspire.

“I have accepted myself in a world that does not accept me, because I have learned – and more than any of the lessons of my accident, this is the one I wish I could teach everybody – that our hearts matter most.  Your heart matters most, so be gentler and more patient with yourself, and their hearts matter most, too, so be kinder and more compassionate to others.  It’s a beautiful heart, not a perfect body, that leads to a beautiful life.”  ―    Stephanie Nielson,    Heaven Is Here: An Incredible Story of Hope, Triumph, and Everyday Joy

Let's Hear It Mommies!

