Playing Restaurant

We like to play “Restaurant” at our house.

For some reason, pretending that I’m a waitress with an English accent facilitates happiness and joy around our breakfast or lunch table.  Although we occasionally play this game during breakfast, it’s generally a lunch-time specialty.

(In the above picture, Lizzie is eating lunch.  Yes, she is still in her pajamas.  Don’t judge.)

The make-believe game begins with Lizzie and Bryce sitting patiently on the couches in our living room.  I (the waitress) politely welcomes them to my fancy restaurant (using a proper English accent, of course) and invite them to sit down.  I provide them with their utensils, napkins, and drinks.  I then proceed to ask them what they would like to eat.

Lizzie has created quite a few menus that we use for this game, but they don’t last long.  If I have a menu that she had created, they use the menu to choose their food.

For some reason, Lizzie always pretends that she is the Mom and that Bryce is her son.

She says, “Waiter, I would like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, please.  With no crust.  And one for my son too.”

I then ask, “Would you like any fruits or vegetables, Mademoiselle?”

“Yes, please.  An apple.  With no skin.”

If I’m being nice that day, I tell her that I will be right back with her order, exactly how she wants it.  Usually, however, I tell her that the chef is physically unable to cut the crust off of the sandwich or the skin off of the apple. 🙂

She rarely complains when I add a “Mademoiselle” after every sentence I speak.

I then bring the food to them and they eat it.  Properly.  They even use their napkins.  When they need more of something, they politely ask.

The meals that we eat usually vary.  At my fancy restaurant, I serve peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, meat sandwiches, grilled-cheese sandwiches, quesidillas, salad, chicken nuggets, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, carrots, cucumbers, apples, plums, nectarines, bananas, yogurt, and even more.

I try to make the food look fancier than the typical lunch.  I cut their sandwiches into shapes using cookie cutters.  I give them dipping sauce for their fruits and veggies.  I sprinkle cinnamon on their apples.  I sometimes arrange their food to look like objects.  Anything to make it special.

They love it.

And really, I love it too. 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

