Home

Everytime we are planning a trip to Cache Valley, Utah, something stirs inside of me.  The radio station in my car is turned to country more often that it is used to, my feet feel the need to hike and explore, and I even find myself waiting to come out of Sardine Canyon and smell the cows…I mean the beautiful farms and open air.

I picture myself eating at Firehouse Pizzeria, of Mandarin Chinese, or Juniper Takeout (yes, I eat a lot when I’m there).  I feel the excitement in seeing the lights of the LDS temple and the “A” lit up on the hill.  Whether it’s red and gold leaves, snow, or green trees and rushing water that awaits me, I feel the longing.  The longing for….HOME.

And yes, now my actual home consists of a husband who took a chance on the visiting Utahn and actually now calls me “his best”.  And home now means messy floors, holding little hands and voices giggling, staying up past their bedtime.  Home is my friends and family that I have come to love here in Lancaster and all the peace and joy I find in living here.

I believe that I will accquire many more “homes” in my lifetime and I don’t ever want to leave any of them behind.  I will merely form a collection.

“Home wasn’t a set house, or a single town on a map. It was wherever the people who loved you were, whenever you were together. Not a place, but a moment, and then another, building on each other like bricks to create a solid shelter that you take with you for your entire life, wherever you may go.”  ―    Sarah Dessen  

Let's Hear It Mommies!

