Mookies

Lizzie came up with the name “Mookies” for these because we both decided that they taste like a mix between a cookie and a  muffin.  This is one of those recipes that I threw together on a whim because I was in the mood for oatmeal chocolate chip cookies but we didn’t have any chocolate chips.

(Actually, I don’t allow myself to buy chocolate chips unless I know that I’m going to use them immediately.  I have a problem with having bags of chocolate chips in my pantry simply waiting to be used.  I seriously can’t resist opening up the bag just to eat one.  And then I obviously can’t stop at just one.  Before I know it, the entire bag is gone!  I just have no control whatsoever when it comes to certain things – and chocolate definitely makes the top of my”no control” list!)

Anyway, we didn’t have any chocolate chips but I wasn’t in the mood for plain oatmeal cookies.  I looked in our pantry and saw that we had a bunch of instant oatmeal packets that needed to be used up before they expired.  Why not use them for baking cookies?  The first time I tried this recipe, I used the instant blueberry oatmeal flavor.  Since then, we have also tried the peaches and cream as well as the strawberries and cream flavors.

These taste so good!  They aren’t as sweet as a typical cookie, which is why they kind of remind me of muffins.  Jon really likes these as well and he isn’t particularly a fan of cookies, so that’s really saying something! 🙂

Anyway, here’s the recipe.  If you have any packets of instant oatmeal needing to be devoured, why not give these mookies a try? 🙂

Mookies

1 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

6 Tablespoons butter, melted

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

1/2 cup instant oatmeal (any flavor)

Mix all of the ingredients together.  Chill in the fridge for 1/2 an hour.  Roll into 1-inch balls and place on cookie sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for approximately 8 minutes.

Let's Hear It Mommies!

