Healthy Strawberry-Banana Muffins

Please excuse this ugly picture.  I promise that these taste better than they look! 🙂

We buy a lot of bananas at our house.  But no  matter how many we eat a day (it isn’t unusual for me to consume 3 per day!), we always end up having a few bananas out of each bunch that go bad before we can eat them.  I don’t like eating over-ripe bananas plain, so I usually throw them in fruit smoothies or mix them with pancake batter to make banana pancakes.  I also make banana muffins quite often.  I wanted to try something different this weekend, however, and so I found this recipe for strawberry-banana muffins that looked appetizing.  And it was even quite healthy, which is a major plus.  They were absolutely delicious and I will definitely be making them again!

Strawberry-Banana Muffins

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

 1 tsp baking soda

1 tablespoon cinnamon

pinch of salt

2 eggs

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup apple sauce

1 cup mashed banana

1 cup sliced strawberries (fresh or frozen)

Preheat over to 375.

1. Line 12 large muffin cups with paper liners, or spray with non-stick cooking spray.  (I actually used my mini-muffin tin for these).

2. In a medium bowl, combine flours, soda, cinnamon, and salt and set aside.

3. In another bowl whisk together eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, applesauce, and mashed bananas.  Stir in sliced strawberries until just combined.

4. Spoon batter into muffin liners until full.  Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Let cool for a couple of minutes before flipping out of pan.  (Since I used a mini-muffin tin, they were done in about 10 minutes).

Let's Hear It Mommies!

