I Wanna Talk About Me

Any country fan may be hearing Toby Keith singing in their head right now, and that would be all right with me.  I know the song is about dating, and Michael and I laugh about it sometimes, but it also says a little bit about parenting.  Of course, the whole song won’t apply, but any mother/father will understand that when you have children, especially if you stay home with those children, most of your day is spent talking about your children, or addressing their needs, or existing in make-believe worlds.

“Me Time” is a swear word in some homes, and I just want to say that I think that it is healthy.  I wouldn’t trade staying home with my kids for anything.  It really brings a lot of joy into my life.  But……that joy wouldn’t be as full if I didn’t get a break every once in a while.  I like to go on dates with my husband, or take a walk….or my favorite guilty pleasure….a nap.  I also spend time every day on ME.

I know everybody is different, but I can’t block out 2 hours of every day to spend how I like it.  It doesn’t always work out that all the kids are napping or occupied at the same time for that amount of time.  I find, for my kids at least, that they don’t feel as neglected (I know they aren’t, but you will feel that they are) if I fit in 20 minutes here and there to read, write, craft, blog, workout, or watch some Downton Abbey.

Those 20 minutes revive me for the next two hours that I spend being Wonderwoman.  Like, really being Wonderwoman, running around with a cape on and fighting Batman.  Not because I get so much done and am so awesome.  Because most days I don’t get a whole lot done and am not that awesome.

It’s the little moments where I feel like I better myself that I make myself a better mom.

Let's Hear It Mommies!

