Broccoli Potato Cheddar Corn Chowder

Image

Say that ten times fast!  I know it’s summer and not really the season for soups, but Ty and I have serious colds/sinus infections and soup seemed just the thing to help us feel better.

This soup is one of the best soups I have ever tasted.  And I love soup.  I was putting the soup away after dinner and my husband asked why I wasn’t leaving some out to pack for his lunch tomorrow.  I said that he never eats leftover soup.  He said I’ve never made a soup this good.

I’m tellin ya, it’s really good.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 1/2 cups chicken/veggie broth

1/4 cup butter

4 cups of diced potatoes

5 green onions diced

1 head of broccoli (pre-steamed)

1 cup of corn (fresh/frozen/canned….it’s all good)

6 Tbsp butter

6 Tbsp flour

1 cup  milk

8 ounces sour cream

2 cups grated cheese (I used cheddar, but any kind would taste delicious!)

First thing I did was microwave the diced potatoes for 5 minutes.  I am a real stickler about crunchy potatoes in my soup.  You don’t have to do this, but I do.  Then you put the broth (water will work too if you don’t have any, it’s just more flavor with the broth), 1/4 cup butter, green onions and potatoes in a large pot and bring to boil.

After it’s boiling you add the broccoli and the corn and mix well.  Then you add the 6 Tbsp of butter and the 6 Tbsp of flour and mix in really well.  Then you take it off the heat, add the milk, then return it to the heat and stir until the soup creams up.

This step is really nice for me because I always burn a rue when I make it and this step worked just as well and you use it in the middle.  So nice!

After it’s as creamy as you’d like, you take it off the heat again and add the sour cream and cheese.  Then it’s ready to serve!

We served it with grilled cheese but if I had planned ahead I would’ve loved a bread bowl.  This is a keeper in our house!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

