Toilet Paper Roll Color and Number Activity

Do you ever save empty toilet paper rolls?

I cleaned out my closet the other day and seriously found nineteen empty toilet paper rolls that I was saving just in case I needed them.  You can use them for a variety of kids crafts…but that’s just about it.  At least, as far as I know.  Are there any other uses for empty toilet paper rolls that I am unaware of?

Anyway, if you happen to have some lying around your house and you haven’t a clue what to do with them, you ought to make one of these for your kids.  It’s fast, it’s easy, it’s somewhat educational, and it might keep them busy for a few minutes. 🙂  I made this over a year ago and my kids have enjoyed it.

I used 12 toilet paper rolls, although you could really use as many (or as few) as you want.

First, glue different colored construction paper around your empty toilet paper rolls.  Then use a hot glue gun to secure them onto a piece of cardboard.

I then numbered 12 large clothespins from 1 – 12.  You can attach the numbers, like I did, or simply write the number on the clothespin.

You need a package of colored Popsicle sticks to play this game.

One way of playing is to have your child simply place the Popsicle sticks in the corresponding color.  This is what Bryce likes to do because he refuses to learn anything more challenging at the moment. 🙂

When your child is up for more of a challenge (Lizzie used to love doing this) they can place the numbered clothespins on the toilet paper rolls in numerical order.  This also helps develop fine motor skills.

After placing the clothespins, your child can place the corresponding number of Popsicle sticks in each empty toilet paper roll.  (One yellow stick in the #1 spot, two blue sticks in the #2 spot, etc.)

This is a fast and easy game that, as I mentioned earlier, keeps the kids busy for a bit!  🙂

Have fun! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

