Better With Cheddar Enchiladas

Much to the chagrin of my husband, I am basically obsessed with enchiladas.  I don’t know what it is about them, but I could eat them every day.  That said, I am not a big fan of red-sauce enchiladas.  I usually tend to gravitate towards the white-sauce or green-chile sauces.  Something about red enchilada sauce just tasted funky to me.  But, I found the solution to my problem and now we eat red-sauce enchiladas just as much!

The secret?  Cheddar Cheese Soup.  All I do is add a can of cheddar cheese soup to the enchilada sauce and it makes the most delicious sauce you have ever tasted.

Here’s the recipe so you can try it out for yourselves:

15-20 corn tortillas (this is for a 9×13 pan, so you can change this according to your pan size)

About 20 ounces of red enchilada sauce (one small can isn’t enough, but one large can is too much.  I usually use about 3/4 of a large can)

One can (10.5 ounces) of Cheddar Cheese Soup

2 Tb water

2 cups of  grated cheddar cheese

1 pound ground beef

1 small onion diced

1 can Rotel

1 can (15 oz) pinto/kidney/black beans (choose your favorite)

1 can (15 oz) corn

First you dice up your onion and put it in your skillet.  Then you brown your ground beef.  I like to add some red pepper flakes in while I brown my meat to make it a little spicy.  Or I’ll cut up some jalapeno and add it in there too.  Totally up to you.  Drain your meat and put it back in the skillet.

This is where the recipe gets versatile.  You can just leave it at the meat if you want.  I like to add pinto beans, corn, some rotel tomatoes and chiles.

Then you mix up your sauce.  I get a medium-sized bowl and mix together the sauce, cheese soup and water.  Then I microwave my tortillas 5 at a time for 20 seconds so they are bendy and don’t break.

Spread 1/4 cup of sauce on the bottom of your pan.  Take a tortilla, fill it with meat mixture and a sprinkle of cheese.  Roll up and place seam down in the pan.  Repeat until your pan is full.

Pour remaining meat mixture and your cheesy enchilada sauce over the top of the tortillas.  Top with remaining grated cheese.

Bake at 375 for 45 minutes until it’s brown, bubbly, and crispy.

Serve with Spanish rice or a salad.

Let's Hear It Mommies!

