Mushroom Spinach Jack Quesadillas

 

If you haven’t noticed, we’re quesadilla people in this house.  I remember getting something like this in  my college days when I used to eat out almost everyday.  I don’t remember the restaurant they came from, but I remember that I loved them….a lot.  So I recreated them and they were just as tasty.

Ingredients:

Flour tortillas

Spinach leaves

Sliced mushrooms

Minced Garlic

Monterey Jack cheese (shredded)

Olive oil

Just put a tsp or so of olive oil in a pan and let it heat up.  Then add a bunch (real precise measurements here folks) of spinach leaves (tear off the stems) and mushroom slices and a tsp of minced garlic.  Cook for only a couple of minutes until the mushrooms are soft and the spinach is wilted.  In a separate pan, put one more tsp of olive oil and heat it up.  Place one flour tortilla down, top with mushroom/spinach mix, shredded jack cheese and then cover with the second flour tortilla.  Heat until brown on both sides and the cheese is melted in the middle.  I like to think this is a healthy version of one of my favorite foods.  Have to admit, my kids didn’t eat it.  But I didn’t care…more for me 🙂

 

Let's Hear It Mommies!

