The BIG No-No: Comparing Kids

The other day I was playing with my 2-year-old nephew and I realized something.

He was a genius.

Seriously.

The smartest 2-year-old that I have ever come in contact with.

I was writing letters on the magnadoodle one at a time and he knew every single letter.  Not only that, but he knew what letter came next.  He knew every  number as well.  All the way up to 25.  And this kid just barely turned two!

I was extremely impressed.

And I immediately felt a tad bit embarrassed as well.

Bryce is 3 and he still doesn’t know all of his letters and numbers.  Not even close, actually.

I work with him quite a bit, but he just isn’t that interested.  Lizzie was different.  She seemed to have a natural desire to learn and I had an easy time teaching her.  Bryce comes from a completely different mold.  He puts up a fight for everything.  Which would be why he isn’t potty-trained yet!

I couldn’t help but wonder, as I was playing with my nephew, that I must be doing something wrong.

Why is my son so behind?

I must be a bad mom.

But wait.

I love my kids.  I try to teach them (secular as well as spiritual knowledge).  But most of all, I love them.

So does it really matter if another 2-year-old is smarter than my son?

Does it really matter if another 5-year-old can read Harry Potter and Lizzie is still working on “Hop on Pop?”

Who cares?

I’m trying not to.

The other day, Lizzie presented me with this “book” that she made.

My first thought was, “I know that Lizzie can write better than this.  Why is it so sloppy?”

Why did I think that? 

Why does it matter?  I can’t expect her to write perfectly all of the time, right?  Where did my mentality come from that she is getting “graded” on everything?  It’s ridiculous.

The title of her book was “Rip tet buc” (Rip the Book)

It goes on to say “Mi buc got rip.  I wuz sad.”  (My book got ripped.  I was sad.)

She then writes, “I got anudr wun.” (I got another one).

I made myself look at the book through her eyes.

And it was a beautiful creation.

I couldn’t help but laugh though.

When I asked her to recite the word “another”, she said “anuder”.

Why have I not noticed this before?

My child isn’t perfect.

And I’m okay with that!

I love my kids.

And that’s the most important thing.

One thought on “The BIG No-No: Comparing Kids

Let's Hear It Mommies!

