Homemade Chili in Pumpkin-shaped Bread Bowls

On October 1st, Lizzie woke up SO excited.  She has been waiting for October ever since her birthday in August!  She wanted to wear one of her special Halloween shirts and I told her that she would have to wait until October 1st.

Here she is, all ready for school:

🙂

It ended up being super hot that day.  Although I warned her that she would be warm in the clothes that she chose, she insisted.  I guess that Mom’s don’t know anything…right?  So I rolled up her sleeves as best as I could and allowed her to suffer the consequences of her choice.

While Lizzie was at school that day, Bryce and I decorated our house for Halloween.  I found it only fitting to make something Halloween-ish for dinner that night.  It turned out to be such a success that I am going to make it an October 1st tradition. 🙂

This is what I made:

Homemade chili in a pumpkin-shaped bread bowl.

Yummy!

I made the chili earlier on in the day and let it cook in the in the slow cooker until we were ready to eat.  My friend gave me this recipe last year and we can’t get enough of it!

The Best (and easiest) Chili

Ingredients:

One Lawry’s chili packet

1 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes (or tomato sauce)

1 pound ground beef (or ground turkey)

1 medium onion, diced

1 can red kidney beans

1 can chili beans

Directions:

Brown ground beef (or turkey) in a pan along with the diced onion.  Drain grease if necessary.  Put the beef and onion in the crock-pot and add the remaining ingredients.  Mix thoroughly.  Cook on high for approximately 2 hours and then simmer on low until ready to serve.  Stir occasionally.

We always put green onions and shredded cheese on top.

For the pumpkin shaped bread bowls, I used this recipe.  I followed the directions except I added yellow and red food coloring to the water prior to adding any flour.

It was a delicious success!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

