Pumpkin Bars

 

I worked at a bakery/sandwich shop called the “Old Grist Mill Bread Company” for a few years when I was in college.  I loved working there!  One perk of being an employee was that I got to buy any baked good for 50% off.  Needless to say, I practically lived on Old Gristmill bagels and bread for those two years!

Aside from delicious bread and sandwiches, they make to-die-for sweets.  Although I loved their oatmeal-chocolate-chip cookies, I seriously think that I liked their “pumpkin squares” the best.  The toughest part about working there was giving the customers their orders and wishing that you could eat it instead!  I always salivated when I gave the customers their pumpkin squares! 🙂

I found this recipe a while ago and it tastes just like I remember the Old Gristmill pumpkin squares tasting like.

Only better.

Because I can eat the whole entire batch all by myself!

I definitely have to be careful with these.  The recipe makes a ton and I usually only make it if I know that people are coming over or if I am going visiting teaching so that I can give most of it away.  If I didn’t give a lot of it away, then it would be gone (in my own digestive system) in less than 24 hours.  No joke!

I you love pumpkin as much as I do, you simply have to try out this recipe!

Pumpkin Bars

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 tsp. salt

4 eggs, beaten

1 – 16 oz. can pumpkin

1 1/3 cup sugar

1 cup cooking oil

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine beaten eggs, pumpkin, sugar, and oil.  Beat until well mixed.

3. Add dry ingredients, and mix together until smooth.

4. Spread batter into an ungreased cookie sheet (15″ X 10″ X 1″).

5.  Bake in oven for 25-35 minutes.

6.  Cool completely and frost with cream cheese frosting (see below)

Cream Cheese Frosting

1. Beat together the ingredients below until light and fluffy:

1 – 3 oz. package of cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

2.  Add 2 cups of powdered sugar, beating until smooth.

Let's Hear It Mommies!

