A Few Turkey-ish Activities

Here are just a few Turkey-ish activities that we have been up to so far this November!

1.  We make these cute little hand print/foot print Turkey’s every year and I just think they are so adorable!  They are also small enough to save so it has been neat to see the difference in sizes from year to year.  If you can’t tell, the brown body is Bryce’s foot (traced onto construction paper) and the feathers are his hand prints.

Lizzie had to do the entire thing all by herself this year. 🙂

2.  We also make one of these gratitude trees every year.  The trunk of the tree is the kids’ hand print and they record something that they are thankful for on each of the tree’s leaves.  I wrote down what Bryce wanted me to and he glued the leaves where he wanted to.  I usually cut the leaves to actually resemble leaves…I got lazy this year! 🙂  Lizzie, of course, wanted to do everything by herself again.  She wouldn’t even allow me to assist her with the spelling of words.  Little Miss Independent! 🙂

This craft is also small enough to save and I have enjoyed looking at the similarities and differences from years past.

3.  I found this cute little “Roll a Turkey” game on Oopsey Daisey’s website.  I didn’t really want to make the game as she suggested, so I made mine with felt instead.  Much easier…and just as much fun! 🙂

4.  I made the obvious discovery that baby food jar lids are magnetic.  🙂  I save all of mine for no specific reason.  Bryce loves doing any kind of fishing game, so I thought of a turkey fishing game that he loves!  I printed off 10 turkeys, colored them, numbered them 1 – 10, and taped them to 10 different baby food jar lids.  Bryce uses our dinky little “fishing pole” (made out of a ruler, string, and a magnet) to fish the number turkey’s.  I am willing to try anything to get that kid to learn! 🙂

5.  Remember the Jack-0-lantern matching game that I posted about last month?  Well, I thought that it would be cool to come up with the same type of activity, only turkey-ish. 🙂  So I took pictures of 12 different turkey’s (I only switched their feathers around, however, I think it would have been neat to switch the feet position, head position, etc.) and the kids create matching turkey’s.

Simple…but fun! 🙂

6.  Since I was taking pictures for the turkey matching game above, I decided to take pictures of turkey’s with different numbers of feathers at the same time.  This is a number matching game for Bryce.  He counts the feathers on the turkey and then places the correct number next to the picture.

By the way, the pictures that I took were horrible.  I took them really fast and hurried and had them printed out at Wall-mart.  I didn’t realize how bad they were until I saw them…oh well! 🙂

Anyway, I hope I gave you a few fun ideas!

I’m always trying to think of new learning activities for my kids…mostly because I get bored of doing the same things all of the time!  I love it how holiday’s present so many opportunities for creativity! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

