Christmas Crafts

I’m surprised it’s only December 11th!

IMG_5232

It has been a pretty busy month so far.  I have been trying to focus on enjoying every single day of this Christmas season and I’m pleased to realize that my efforts have not been in vain.  I am genuinely enjoying myself.  My kids are enjoying themselves.

IMG_5294

I’m happy! 🙂

And I’m so glad that we still have half of a  month to continue our celebration.

IMG_5233

So far, we have been reading scripture verses and being crafty.

The crafts that we have done so far have been incredibly simple.

I haven’t even had to buy any supplies for them (always a plus)!

Here are the crafts that we have made so far!

We made these cute little Angels out of paper plates, glitter, and gold pipe cleaner.

IMG_5239

We made these Christmas trees by gluing together paper scraps and pom-poms.  By the way, these are Bryce’s favorite types of crafts.

IMG_5240

These are super simple Santa hats that we made using construction paper and cotton balls.

IMG_5241

Lizzie made our Christmas cards this year (for family).  She dipped q-tips in paint to make the tree and ornaments.  She put a star sticker on top of the tree and used crayon to draw the tree trunk.  I thought that they turned out so cute!

IMG_5242

We made these candy cane ornaments out of felt and buttons.

IMG_5244

I traced Lizzie and Bryce’s hand prints, cut them out, and then they glued them on this paper plate to make a hand-print wreath.

IMG_5283

The kids really enjoyed making these paper plate peppermint candies.

IMG_5285

IMG_5287

IMG_5288

IMG_5298

Can you tell which one is Bryce’s? 🙂

IMG_5299

We made these Christmas trees by gluing together different sized hearts (one small, medium, and large).  I found these sparkly stickers left over from another craft that Lizzie did months ago.  They made perfect ornaments!

IMG_5343

IMG_5348

The kids colored Popsicle sticks green (and Bryce insisted on making one of his black).  Then they glued pom-poms on top of the sticks.  Can you tell which one is Lizzie’s? 🙂  These huge things are now hanging on our tree.

IMG_5349

We made and played with GingerbreadPlaydough!  It smells so good! 🙂

IMG_5305

For some reason, Bryce thinks that candy canes are guns.  I did not teach him this.  I think that boys are simply born with the innate ability to see everything as weapons.  As a side note, he thinks that it’s funny to pick his nose and wipe his boogers on people.  So gross.  Seriously…where in the world did he learn these types of behaviors!

IMG_5306

And Lizzie is truly just as sweet as can be. 🙂

IMG_5310

Lizzie kept sniffing it! 🙂

IMG_5314

IMG_5318

I saw this idea for a cute little Nativity that I really wanted to try.  I looked at the scrap wood in our garage and was only able to find extremely huge pieces.  I looked a bit harder and finally found 2 small pieces of oak.  They worked perfectly!  The kids love their own little Nativities! 🙂

IMG_5326

IMG_5328

Little adorable Mason, getting into mischief!

IMG_5333

I displayed all of their artwork in our front entryway for all of our guests (because we have so many…ha!) to see.  Lizzie and Bryce always want me to hang their artwork on our walls!

IMG_5320

That’s it, for now!

I’ll update later on and include any additional crafts and activities that we do.

Oh, one more thing.

This is our Christmas splurge this year:

IMG_5355

It’s a 450 piece set of solid wood Lincoln logs!

Jon and I (I mean…our kids) are really going to love it!

IMG_5356

IMG_5358

And I just now realized that all of these tiny little logs are going to be spread all over my house.

Oh well.

May as well add the logs to the play food, the legos, the blocks, the Mr. Potato head pieces, the tinker toys, the balls, the match cars, etc., etc., etc.,

Have a great day!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

