DIY Chalkboard (For Under $5!)

IMG_2665

This year had to get creative with my Christmas present budget because we sold our house and are buying a new one.  I am happy to say that I found the perfect gift that was easy on the pocketbook and a hit with cousins and Mikey’s Kindergarten teacher.

Supply list:

8′ 1 x 12 board from hardware store (I had them cut them in 14″ sections for me 🙂 )

Your choice of wood stain

Chalkboard paint (pint or spray)

You choice of colored acrylic paint

Painters tape

I started out staining the boards.  You don’t have to paint all the way to the middle because that section will be covered with the chalkboard paint.

IMG_2491

IMG_2493

Then I turned the wood over and painted the backs.  I wanted to have each cousin differentiate their own chalkboard from their siblings.

IMG_2494

When that was dry I taped the front and painted two coats of chalkboard paint on the front.

IMG_2495

Remove the tape when dry and you have a present that is around $5 each and totally easy to make!

chalkboard

Posted in DIY

One thought on “DIY Chalkboard (For Under $5!)

  1. It really was a hit! Not only does Jazlynne play with it daily, but so do Craig and I. It’s great family time together drawing pictures and making Jazlynne guess what they are. Thanks Tara!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

