Graham Wafer Treat

IMG_5451

This recipe comes from our Grandma Duncan.  In Canada, they say “graham wafers” rather than “graham crackers”.  Our Mom used to make this every single Christmas Eve for as long as I can remember.  When I was little, I remember that my job was to empty the graham crackers into a huge bowl and break them into little pieces.

This is Lizzie’s job now! 🙂

IMG_5449

And, just like I did when I was little, she just has to taste those graham crackers to make sure they are safe and edible! 🙂  We don’t buy graham crackers at our house very often (I like them too much and I would probably end up hiding them from my kids…ha-ha), so it’s always a treat when we have them in the house! 🙂

IMG_5448

Oh, and just so that you are aware, this recipe has raw eggs in it.  Yep, completely raw eggs.  But I’m choosing to share this recipe anyway, despite the possibility of food-borne illness.  It’s been in my family for years.  As far as I know, no one has ever gotten sick from it.

Besides, it’s not like you never eat raw cookie dough, right? 🙂

If you’re scared of disease…don’t try it.  If you’re brave and fearless, give it a try!  I love it and could eat the entire pan in one sitting! 🙂

Graham Wafer Treat

1 lb. graham crackers (3 packages)

1/2 lb. marshmallows (half of a bag)

3 oz. diced walnuts

1/2 cup butter

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

Directions

1. Melt butter in a medium-sized microwave safe bowl.  Set aside.

2.  Place the graham crackers in a large mixing bowl and crush into small bite-sized pieces.  You can do this by hand at first and then crush it with a heavy mug (or something similar).

3.  After crushing the graham crackers, add the marshmallows and the walnuts and mix thoroughly (using your hands).

4.  After the butter has cooled off a bit, mix in the vanilla, cocoa powder, and brown sugar.  Whip the 3 eggs in a glass with a fork prior to adding to the butter mixture.  Thoroughly combine the eggs into the butter mixture.

5.  Pour the butter/egg mixture over the graham crackers and mix really well (I always use my hands).

6.  Press the graham cracker mixture firmly into a greased 9X13 baking pan (I usually spray my hands with non-stick cooking spray before doing this part).

7.  Cover with plastic wrap and place in fridge for about 1/2 an hour.  Remove from fridge and frost with your favorite chocolate frosting.  My mom always used the store-bought kind, but I prefer to make my own frosting.  Either way, it’s not healthy! 🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

