Groundhog Day?

Lizzie cracks me up.

She is constantly saying the most random things!

When I went to pick up Lizzie from school on the Monday after Groundhog Day, all of the kids in her kindergarten class walked out of the school with these cute (well, quite funny-looking) little paper headbands on.

IMG_5269

If you can’t tell, it’s a groundhog headband.

Personally, I think that it looks like a beaver.

When I saw Lizzie, she smiled a huge smile (as usual) and waved to me.  As we were walking to the car I began my routine of asking Lizzie about her day.  As we were walking, I noticed that Lizzie was oddly happy.  Like the kind of happy that she was on Christmas day.

Suddenly, Lizzie stopped walking and gave me a huge hug.  I was just about to ask her what the hug and smiles and excitement was all about when she said rather dramatically…

Oh, Mommy!  Happy Groundhog Day! I love you!

Ha!

In Lizzie’s mind, every holiday is a cause for celebration.  And, apparently, a reason to show your love to your mother. 🙂

I just had to laugh.

In fact, I have laughed every single time I remember that moment.

It’s not like I don’t care about Groundhog Day, I really do.  Well, kind of.  Actually, when I really think about it, I don’t really care in the slightest about Groundhogs, or the day completely dedicated to them.

Let’s face it, I live in California.  The weather is nice 99% of the time.  I could care less if the little brown hairy creature sees his shadow.

Am I being insensitive?

🙂

On the drive home from school that day, Lizzie told me all about what she learned about Groundhogs.

“Groundhogs are brown.  They have two black eyes.  They have a red nose and gold teeth.”

Wow…she now officially knows more than I do about Groundhogs!

🙂

Aside from getting a good laugh, I learned that day that I should put forth an effort to treat every day like a holiday.

Wouldn’t it be great if we were all super giddy and loving every day of the year?  Not just on Christmas?

If only we could treat every day like Groundhog Day.

🙂

Let's Hear It Mommies!

