Wonder by RJ Palacio

wonder

Wonder by R.J Palacio

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

This book is a MUST READ.  I read a lot of books, and I don’t come on here a lot and urge Mommies to read along.  But this book is, well, Wonderful.  It’s middle grade so it’s a quick read that can also be read while multi-tasking.  The perfect read for the busy mommie!

Even though my sons don’t have the craniofacial deformity that Auggie has, I saw my boys in them.  I hurt for him like he was my son.  I laughed with him like he was my son.  And I stood up for him like he was my son.

I also would love for my sons to read this book when they get older so they know how to be the person that makes Auggie feel good, not bring him down.

I could go on about how much this book inspired me or how many awards it has recieved, but instead, I’ll leave you with a few of my favorite quotes.

“Kinder than is necessary. Because it’s not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.” 
―    R.J. Palacio,    Wonder

“Courage. Kindness. Friendship. Character. These are the qualities that define us as human beings, and propel us, on occasion, to greatness.” 
―    R.J. Palacio,    Wonder

“If every person in this room made it a rule that wherever you are, whenever you can, you wil try to act a little kinder than is necessary – the world really would be a better place. And if you do this, if you act just a little kinder than is necessary, someone else, somewhere, someday, may recognize in you, in every single one of you, the face of God.” 
―    R.J. Palacio,    Wonder

“The best way to measure how much you’ve grown isn’t by inches or the number of laps you can now run around the track, or even your grade point average– though those things are important, to be sure. It’s what you’ve done with your time, how you’ve chosen to spend your days, and whom you’ve touched this year. That, to me, is the greatest measure of success.” 
―    R.J. Palacio,    Wonder

“MR. BROWNE’S SEPTEMBER PRECEPT:

WHEN GIVEN THE CHOICE BETWEEN BEING
RIGHT OR BEING KIND, CHOOSE KIND.”
―    R.J. Palacio,    Wonder

“It’s like people you see sometimes, and you can’t imagine what it would be like to be that person, whether it’s somebody in a wheelchair or somebody who can’t talk. Only, I know that I’m that person to other people, maybe to every single person in that whole auditorium.
To me, though, I’m just me. An ordinary kid.” 

“I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.” 
―    R.J. Palacio,    Wonder

Let's Hear It Mommies!

