How we do Valentines Day

I’m not a big decorator for holidays (aside from Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas).  Mostly because the other holiday colors don’t match the colors of my house (is that weird?).  So our house only looks like Valentines Day on the actual day…not before or after.

We have a few traditions for Valentines Day that we have been doing for a few years now.

The first tradition is that I always give my kids a love note from me (something our Mom always did for us).  I made the kids simple little felt bags to hang on their doorknobs.  I put a few chocolate candies inside of the bag and taped their love note along with some paper hearts to their bedroom door the night before Valentines Day so that they would find it in the morning when they woke up.  Lizzie and Bryce both knew that I was going to give them a surprise and they were very excited!

4

I got up a bit earlier than usual and made the kids pink heart-shaped pancakes with whipped cream and sprinkles.  I bought these heart-shaped plates for a dollar a few years ago and we use them for all of our meals on Valentines Day.  I also put a Valentines Day tablecloth on our table…which the kids thought was so cool!

1

2

This year, I found this gigantic card from Jon on our couch when I got back from dropping Lizzie off at school.  I love my husband. 🙂

3

For dinner, I made heart-shaped pizza, which was a bit hit.  But when is pizza not a hit?

7

Dinner wouldn’t be dinner recently without one of the kids having a tantrum of sorts.  This is Bryce being upset because we wouldn’t let him eat dessert first.  Aren’t we the worst parents ever? 🙂

8

9

Dessert was very simple.  There are simply too many cute ideas to choose from, so I just vetoed them all.  I ended up making instant chocolate pudding from a box and topping it with cool whip and sprinkles.  Easiest dessert ever.

6

Oh, and I made the easiest fudge on the planet as well.  Everyone got one piece…the rest went with Jon to work.  That’s how we roll around here.

🙂

5

Want the recipe?

I read this recipe a while ago and finally decided to give it a shot.  All you do is melt 1 bag of white chocolate chips in the microwave and then mix it with 1 container of strawberry frosting.  That’s it!  I put the mixture inside of an 8 X 8 inch square pan (lined with aluminum foil).  I also pressed sprinkles in the fudge, but that’s optional, of course.  It was ready to cut into pieces after only 30 minutes in the fridge! 🙂

I hope that you all had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and was able to spend it with the people you love the most!

One thought on “How we do Valentines Day

  1. So stinkin’ awesome!! Love it all! I did the pink pancakes for the first time ever this year too! Next year I will for sure have to try the fudge and pudding! I love the heart shape pizza too. 🙂 You are great Andrea!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

