Simple DIY Teepee

IMG_2977

The first word I typed in the title is very important in this project.  SIMPLE.  This Teepee was SO easy that anyone could do it in about 10 minutes.  I’m not kidding you.  I have been drooling over DIY teepees on Pinterest for a while now and trying to think of which way I could copy.  In the end, they all seemed like a little bit too much work.  So, while I was at Home Depot on another errand, I picked up the three things I would need to build this little fort.

1.  Canvas drop cloth ($10: 5’9″ x 8’9″)

2.  Clothesline rope (pretty sturdy, but not the thickest)

3.  5 pieces of 7′ long wood (I just went and picked out some posts, don’t know what kind it was, they just looked good)

That’s it.

I apologize for the lack of pictures in this tutorial, but I did it in an afternoon with no husband around to take the pictures, and it’s an awkward project to photograph while you are doing it.  Here are a couple of explanatory pictures after it’s all up.

I took the wood and put it in the shape I wanted, leaning them up against each other.  Then, I took the rope and started winding it around tightly until it was sturdy and wouldn’t slip or tip over.

(I tried a thinner rope on my first go around and the teepee was falling over constantly, so go with the thicker rope)

IMG_2978

Then I draped the drop cloth around the frame, cut two slits in it and tied the canvas onto the frame.

That’s right, NO SEWING!  NO DRILLING!  NO SAWING!

SO SIMPLE!

IMG_2979

My kids can’t get enough of it.  It was very hard to even get a picture without this littlest one in it.

IMG_2973

IMG_2977

Let's Hear It Mommies!

