My Favorite Dinner Rolls

rolls

I’m a sucker for carbs!  And I love, love, love these dinner rolls.  I have a recipe for whole-wheat dinner rolls as well that I resort to when I am trying to be healthier, which I’ll post another day.  These are so good they melt in your mouth!  I made these for Easter and I now have a giant bag of them in my freezer, ready to be warmed up as needed! 🙂  I have mentioned before that I have a big problem with chocolate…if it’s in my house I’ll eat it.  I can’t ignore it!  If I know it’s there, then I can’t simply forget about it.  Are you kidding me?!  I have the same problem with freshly baked bread (or rolls).  I just can’t stop eating them!  So putting them in the freezer helps them last a lot longer.  And it also helps me not to gain a zillion pounds by eating the entire batch in one sitting!! 😉

Anyway, here’s the recipe!  You won’t be disappointed!

Dinner Rolls

1 cup warm water (105 F to 115 F)
2 (1/4 ounce) packages active dry yeast (4 1/2 teaspoons)
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
4 -4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
additional melted butter (optional)Directions:

1 .  Combine the warm water and yeast in a large bowl.

2 .  Let the mixture stand until yeast is foamy, about 5 minutes.
3 .  Stir in butter, sugar, eggs and salt.
4 .  Beat in flour, 1 cup at a time, until dough is too stiff to mix with a spoon (some flour may not be needed). At this point, use dough hook or knead on floured surface for 10 minutes until dough is smooth.
5 .  Place in a greased bowl and cover. Let rise until doubled, or at this point it can be refrigerated for up to 4 days.
6 .  Grease one 16.5×12-inch or two 12×9-inch baking pans.
7 .  Turn the chilled dough out onto a lightly floured board.
8 .  Divide dough into 24 equal-size pieces (about 50 grams each).
9 .  Roll each piece into a smooth round ball; place balls in even rows in the prepared pan.
10 .  Cover and let dough balls rise until double in volume, about 1 hour. (Remember if you are using dough that has been refrigerated and is cold this step will take longer).
11 .  Preheat oven to 375°F Bake until rolls are golden brown, 15-20 minutes.
12 .  Brush warm rolls with melted butter, if desired.
13 .  Break rolls apart to serve.
One thought on “My Favorite Dinner Rolls

Let's Hear It Mommies!

