Homemade Hamburger Buns

IMG_3623[1]

I’ve always wanted to find a good homemade hamburger bun recipe. I think the ones that we buy from the store get dry way too fast and are very lightweight. I’ve had whole wheat ones that are pretty good, but I was still searching for that certain hamburger bun. After messing with a few different recipes, I finally found the right recipe!

They remind me of the buns you get your meat on at Famous Dave’s. They are dense and sweet, almost like a Hawaiian roll. It was the perfect bun for the bbq pulled pork we had for dinner the other night. Here’s how you make them. Like every other bread I make, they are super easy!

Ingredients

2 Tbsp yeast
1 cup plus 2 Tbsp warm water
1/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup oil
1 egg
1 tsp salt
3 – 3 1/2 cups flour

In a large bowl, dissolve the sugar and yeast in the warm water. Let stand for 5 minutes. Add the oil, egg, salt and enough flour to form a soft dough.

Knead until smooth and elastic, about 3-5 minutes. Divide into 8 pieces and roll each piece into a smooth ball. Place 3 in. apart on greased baking sheets.

Cover and let rest for 40 minutes. Bake at 425° for 8-12 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pans to wire racks to cool.

Yield: 8 buns

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hamburger Buns

    • I thought the same thing while trying other recipes, but while adapting it to my own, I realized that that was something I liked about the others. Just give it a try, I think you’ll be pleased 🙂

    • I always start with 3 and then add if I need to or leave it alone if I like the consistency as it is. I like it just past sticky, but not dry at all. Good Luck!

Let's Hear It Mommies!

