Mommies That Inspire: Korbi Ashton

Okay, Mommies…I don’t even know where to begin with this wonderful Mommie.  From the moment I met Korbi over ten years ago, we were instant best friends.  Even though we have never lived closer than 140 miles to each other, she has always been someone who is genuine, smart, beautiful, creative, talented, and, of course…INSPIRING.  Please, welcome, meet and love Korbi Ashton.

korbi1

Who likes to sit and hold a newborn? Everyone, right?

I remember when I was pregnant with my first born. A chubby little dark haired baby named Beck. I was about 6 months along, feeling rather large, writing daily in my pregnancy journal, and working for a mom of 8. That’s right 8 kids. She was super mom. Every Wednesday I would show up at precisely 7am and watch her kids and clean what I could of the house when the youngest, which were a set of twins, were napping. She would be gone most of the day grocery shopping and running errands. I had worked for her for about a year and I admired everything about her and her cute large family. At about 6 months into the pregnancy I told her that I didn’t feel like I had the energy to continue working and I thanked her for letting me work for her and catch a glimpse of her world.  She politely stated that she knew it was coming sooner rather than later and although she was probably chuckling to herself, she smiled and sent me on my way with a hug and best wishes.

For the next 4 months I was bored. Out. Of. My. Mind. Then my 8lb 13 oz bundle of cuteness joined us and I was ecstatic. My world had changed for the better and I sat and held him all the time. It was heaven. I held him while I did or did not do the dishes. I sat him in the bathroom sink in a towel while I showered because it was the closest spot. I held him while I vacuumed or chose not to vacuum. He was my angel, my reason for getting up 3-4 times a night and sit in a rocking chair while I nursed him. I read books while I nursed or I sat and stared at his face.

Fast forward 7 years and I sit nursing my number 4 as I type this out on my iPhone. Now when I nurse I can also unload the dishwasher at the same time. I’ve even been known to change a diaper on a toddler as I hold the baby. I’ve become quite the monster at doing 3-4 things at once. It’s quite insane actually. Long ago are the days of staring at a newborn’s baby acne and long fingernails. Welcome in the days of nursing laying down to close my eyes for a few minutes, sending out reminder emails for the neighbor potluck parties from my phone as I caress a toddler’s head from bonking into the coffee table and make a peanut butter sandwich with Marshmellow fluff with the 3rd arm that miraculously has appeared from my left side in order to get more done. I think back to that amazing mother of 8 and her little grin as she sent 6 month pregnant me off into the world of motherhood only to learn so much more when the 2nd, 3rd, and now 4th baby came along. How do we do it? People talk about how love grows and is not divided after each baby is born. I’m here to tell you that some how our capabilities as a human being also grow! That we are all capable of so much more than we believe!

“If we did all the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves.” – Thomas A Edison

I’m not saying that I don’t miss having that time to just sit and hold my newborn baby. I miss it terribly. I do also just sit sometimes and smile at tiny socks. Some days I have it figured out, this time management thing, and some days I just find myself sitting and staring at baby acne.

Let's Hear It Mommies!

